Coastal Resource Protection

California's coastline is home to three national marine sanctuaries which include over 10,500 square miles of protected area, and the California Coastal National Monument includes 2,272 miles of protected area. California has 124 marine protected areas, which makes up 16 percent of the California coastal zone. Marin County is a zone of extremely high biodiversity and endemism, and includes some of the most biologically significant coastal resources in the world. 

West Marin is home to three national park units (including Point Reyes National Seashore, the Golden Gate National Recreation Area (GGNRA), and the Muir Woods National Monument), three state parks and miles of open space. GGNRA is home to 35 rare, threatened and endangered species, and the Seashore is home to over 50. 

The coastal zone is defined by the Coastal Act and generally extends inland 1,000 yards from the mean high tide line of the sea. This zone is essential to support healthy marine life. The Marin County coastal zone consists of wetlands, lagoons, seagrass beds, reefs, and shallow bays which serve as nurseries or feeding areas for most coastal and oceanic species.

Protection of these important coastal resources is part of EAC's mission. Some of our prior coastal resource successes have included protection of the Estero Americano and Estero de San Antonio from land use development and sewage waste and the jet skis ban in the Greater Farallones National Marine Sanctuary and Tomales Bay. In 2017, EAC participated in the working group, which helped develop the Sonoma-Marin Coastal Regional Sediment Management Report (CRSMR)